Low-Carbon, Positive Energy Resilient Communities Webinar

October 12, 2021, 11:00 AM - 2:30 PM EST

CAE Roadmap to Resilient Ultra-Low Energy Built Environment with Deep Integration of Renewables in 2050

Please register in advance for this meeting.

10:55– 11:00

Online connection

11:00 – 11:30

Setting the Framework for Zero Carbon Communities


Andreas Athienitis, FCAE, Roadmap Co-Chair, Professor and NSERC/Hydro-Québec Industrial Research Chair & Concordia Chair, Concordia University, QC

Andrew Pape-Salmon, FCAE, Roadmap Co-Chair, Executive Director, Building and Safety Standards Branch, Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing, BC

Ursula Eicker, Professor, Canada Excellence Research Chair and IEA Positive Energy Districts Subtask Leader, Concordia University, QC

Caroline Hachem-Vermette, Associate Professor and SHC Solar Neighborhood Planning Subtask Leader, Environmental Design, University of Calgary, AB

11:30 – 12:30

Case Studies – Session I

11:30 – 11:45

Walter Merida, University of British Columbia, BC, Canada:

Feathers and Dinosaurs: A Living Laboratory for Smart Energy Districts

11:45 – 12:00

Karine Lavigne, Hydro Quebec, QC, Canada:

Lac-Mégantic Microgrid

12:00 – 12:15

Bill Wong, NRCan, ON, Canada:

Drake Landing Solar Community

12:15 – 12:30

Presenter TBD, Eurac, Italy:

Building and District Energy System Retrofit in Bolzano

12:30 – 13:30

Case Studies – Session II

12:30 –12:45

Nayeem Ninad, NRCan, ON, Canada:

PV-Storage-Diesel Hybrid Microgrid of Colville Lake

12:45 –13:00

Travis Hickford-Kulak, Corix Utilities, BC, Canada:

Burnaby Mountain District Energy Utility

13:00 –13:15

Dirk Pietruschka, Stuttgart University, Germany:

Low Depth Geothermal District Energy System in Wüstenrot

13:15 –13:30

Rongling Li, Technical University of Denmark, Denmark:

Energy Flexibility of a District Heating System in Copenhagen

13:30– 13:35


13:35 – 14:20

Panel discussion


Co-Chairs: Andreas Athienitis and Andrew Pape-Salmon

All presenters, Ursula Eicker and Caroline Hachem-Vermette

14:20 – 14:30

Closing discussion


Co-Chairs: Andreas Athienitis and Andrew Pape-Salmon